Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Ring of Fire volcano MAP: Where are the volcanoes on the Ring of Fire?

June 5, 2018 12:20 PM
63 0
Ring of Fire volcano MAP: Where are the volcanoes on the Ring of Fire?

GUATEMALA’S Volcan De Fuego has erupted with an official death toll currently sitting at 69 people making it one of the deadliest eruptions in recent history. The volcano sits with others in the active ’Ring of Fire’ zone in the pacific ocean, but where are the other volcanoes?

Guatemala’s catastrophic eruption occurred on the ‘Volcano De Fuego’, which sits in a zone of volcanic and tectonic activity stretching 25,000 kilometres.

The stretch, known as the Ring of Fire, currently plays host to 452 volcanoes areas of seismic activity and could explain why Guatemala’s latest eruption was so violent.

Tectonic plates are the main cause of such an area of activity, as the Ring of Fire sits where tectonic plates are continually moving and mashing.

Guatemala’s Volcán De Fuego sits on a ‘subduction zone’ where two tectonic plates are colliding and releasing magma which in turn feeds the volcano.

The Ring of Fire is divided into a collection of trenches which surround the pacific ocean in a horseshoe shape.

The border of tectonic plates is where most seismic activity takes place and where most of the volcanoes are located.

The volcanoes on the Ring of Fire are situated over each trench, from the Peru-Chile trench to the Kermadec trench above New Zealand.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0