Fans furious after Selena Gomez snubbed in nominations: 'Grammys suck this year'

November 29, 2017 6:33 AM

28 0

Music mogul Jay-Z leads the nominations with eight nods at the music award show.

The nominations for 2018 Grammy Awards are out. And to no one's surprise, music mogul Jay-Z – who released his first album 4.44 in four years – leads the nominations with eight nods. Kendrick Lamar and Bruno Mars also managed to bag seven and six nods, respectively. The Grammys are scheduled to be held at Madison Square Garden in New York City on Sunday, 28 January.

Selena Gomez fans had high expectations before the nomination announcements, but were left disappointed after the songstress was royally snubbed from the list. "Where is Selena Gomez? Except for Rihanna... Grammys suck this year," one fan commented on the award show's Facebook post.

"I'm really furious, Selena deserved a nomination," added another who was miffed that the songstress' track It Ain't Me did not get the nod. "Selena Gomez's It Ain't Me deserved to get nominated for Best EDM Song," said a third.

Many of Gomez's fans think her song is definitely good enough for at least one nomination. "Worst Grammy ever," one angry social media user wrote, while another said, "This is by far the worst they have ever done with nominees."

The 25-year-old American singer has had a whirlwind 2017 so far, with mental illness, two major transplant surgeries following her kidney failure and, above all, Lupus. But that did not stop her from releasing five songs so far this year, including It Ain't Me with Kygo, Bad Liar, Fetish and her latest hit number Wolves in collaboration with Marshmello.

Her story has inspired millions across the world, and fans took to Twitter to say that the star deserves recognition at the most prestigious award show in the music industry – often considered the Oscars of music.

This year the eligibility period for Grammys nominations was extended from 1 October, 2016 to 30 September, 2017.

Also read: Introducing Our MTV PUSH: Ones To Watch 2019 Shortlist…


To category page