Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Commission presents 2014 Enlargement Package

January 11, 2013 11:50 AM
108 0
Commission presents 2014 Enlargement Package

Enlargement Commissioner Štefan Füle is holding a press conference on the EU's enlargement strategy for the year ahead.

The Enlargement Package reports on the progress made by EU candidate countries over the past year in meeting targets in areas like economic governance and judicial reform.

Countries that want to join the EU have to undergo assessment by the European Commission, to prove that they are capable of operating a functioning market economy as part of the bloc, and that their institutions can guarantee respect for human rights and the rule of law.

There are six countries that currently have candidate status: Albania, Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey.

In addition, Kosovo and Bosnia and Herzegovina are potential candidates, who have been told they may apply for membership when they are ready.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0